In 1996, the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples (RCAP) identified the need for the establishment of a national Aboriginal health institute. The National Forum on Health in 1997, the Speech from the Throne and formal consultations with the five national Aboriginal organizations in 1998 reaffirmed that the federal government collaborate with Aboriginal communities, organizations and leadership to establish a national Aboriginal health institute.

In 1999, Cabinet approved the design framework that allowed for the implementation of what is now NAHO. In March 2000, the Organization for the Advancement of Aboriginal Peoples’ Health (OAAPH) was incorporated. Over the course of that same year, 10 Board Members were appointed, five directors were elected and recruitment of NAHO staff began. A Board orientation to NAHO’s mandate and the establishment of initial structures took place, and a new corporate logo was selected. At the conclusion of 2000, the Organization officially changed its name to the National Aboriginal Health Organization – commonly called NAHO.

The Métis Centre is one of three population-specific centres within the National Aboriginal Health Organization (NAHO). Incorporated in 2000,  NAHO is an Aboriginal founded and guided institution whose aim is to advance and promote the health and well-being of First Nations, Inuit, and Métis.

The Métis Centre strives to develop accessible, culturally relevant and safe health and well-being information for a variety of audiences including, but not limited to, researchers, governments, and Métis individuals, families, and communities.